The Labyrinth

Budapest has one of the oldest and interesting caves which are located near the Buda castle (Budai Var), and locals call it The Labyrinth.

These catacombs have appeared few million years ago. The length is 1200 meters and the depth is 16 meters. Many years in row, the caves were connected with underground passageways, which in turn have resulted in labyrinth-like structure.

These caves were used as wine-cellars, military warehouses and wartime jails.

Today, the Buda Labyrinth is a museum and it is open to the visitors. You can also find an room with historic mannequins and clothes.

Address: Úri utca 9

Opening hours: 10:00 – 19:00

Tickets: 2500 HUF.

Capital Circus of Budapest

The predecessor of the Municipal Circus held its grand opening in the year 1891 in the City Park. They have moved a number of times – they’ve used their current building since 1971. It is the only stone circus of Central Europe (with a capacity pf 1850 seats), and it can be visited in any kind of weather. The cast of the circus has and had quite a few famous artists in its ranks, such as Gábor Eötvös clown, who later received the Jászai Prize - even Charlie Chaplin has paid tribute to his art.

For more information visit:

Open-air Stage

Discover the Heart of Budapest! Get unforgettable experiences!

Budapest is most famous for its unmatched panorama, however the Hungarian capital has also been referred to as a city of surprises in the last couple of years. The reason – apart from its historical building- and natural heritage – being that Budapest offers exciting, wide-ranging programs for its guests throughout the whole year.

For more information:


The Hungarian Parliament Building , which translates to House of the Country or House of the Nation), also known as the Parliament of Budapest for being located in that city, is the seat of the National Assembly of Hungary, one of Europe's oldest legislative buildings, a notable landmark of Hungary and a popular tourist destination of Budapest. It lies in Lajos Kossuth Square, on the bank of the Danube. It is currently the largest building in Hungary and still the highest building in Budapest.

For more information visit:

Budapest Zoo and Botanical Garden

Budapest Zoo & Botanical Garden is the oldest zoo park in Hungary and one of the oldest in the world.

It has 1,072 animal species and is located within Városliget Park.

The zoo opened its doors on 9 August 1866. The park has 1–1.1 million visitors every year. The area is a nature reserve, and has some valuable art nouveau buildings designed by Kornél Neuschloss and Károly Kós . More than 1,000 species are living there. The most special animals that are present in the zoo are the Komodo dragon and from December 2011 the wombat.

The zoo is located in the city centre and can be reached by Line 1 (Budapest Metro)

Official city card (Budapest card) owner gets a 25% discount for a single ticket into the zoo.

For more information visit:

Gozsdu Courtyard

Gozsdu: where past and present meet.

Gozsdu Courtyard is one of the most dynamically improving centres in the downtown of Budapest; it is a meeting point that combines entertainment, gastronomy and culture. The entertainment quarter is awaiting its guests with uniquely exciting programmes every day of the week. The Courtyard makes room for countless places, representing extraordinarystyles, thus providing colourful experience for all generations. As the entertainment centre of the downtown, it attracts more than 900,000 visiors per annum; due to its cosmopolitan nature it has become extremely popular between both the residents of Budapest and the tourists.


For more information visit:


Europe’s largest ice-skating rink is located at the edge of the City Park, enclosed between Heroes’ Square and Vajdahunyad Castle. This is the second such establishment in Europe, built in 1926, shortly after the construction of the one in Vienna, Austria. In the wintertime, a continuous, 12,000 m2 large ice surface is generated by special machinery underneath the lake. From spring until autumn, various cultural and recreational events await visitors. In the summertime, the area is usually filled up with water, and boats can be rented. During the last few years, however, the lake remained dry; this is because the water corroded a part of the cooling system, and it needs to be repaired before the lake can be filled up with water again.

For more information visit:


Hospital in the rock

The Hospital in the Rock (Hungarian: Sziklakórház) is the name given to a hospital created in the caverns under Buda Castle inBudapest in the 1930s, in preparation for the Second World War.

In the 1930s, the hospital system was connected to the main tunnel system by manual labour. The main system had been in use by various inhabitants of the castle for many years, and was said to have been part of a penal system in centuries past.

The hospital saw its most heavy use during the 1944–45 Siege of Budapest, where it processed the wounded and the dead. The dead were sent out of the hospital at night and buried in bomb craters. The hospital was without food or medicine for some points during the siege, with hospital staff having to recycle supplies by taking them from corpses and sterilizing them before reuse. Eventually, horses were brought in and killed at the facility for food. The facility was designed to treat 60–70 patients, but at one point it was being used to treat 600 wounded soldiers.

After the siege, the hospital was only used once more in 1956 in response to the uprising against the Soviet rule. After that, the hospital was repurposed as a nuclear bunker, but one dedicated to keeping 200 doctors and nurses safe and available to treat the wounded. Nobody ever took up residence in the bunker, except for a caretaker and his wife. Because of this, the hospital museum now has a collection of anti-radiation kits, as well as some Soviet spying equipment, on display.

In recent times, the hospital has been made into a museum, complete with waxwork recreations of hospital treatments and day-to-day scenarios during the siege. Access to the museum is limited to guided tours.Old equipment that was left over from its operational days is available for sale, including stretchers and civil protection uniforms.

For more information visit:


Memento park

Memento Park is an open-air museum in Budapest, Hungary, dedicated to monumental statues and sculpted plaques fromHungary's Communist period (1949–1989). There are statues of Lenin, Marx, and Engels, as well as several Hungarian Communist leaders. The park was designed by Hungarian architect Ákos Eleőd, who won the competition announced by the Budapest General Assembly (Fővárosi Közgyűlés) in 1991. On public transport diagrams and other documents the park is usually shown as Memorial Park.

A quote by the architect on the project: "This park is about dictatorship. And at the same time, because it can be talked about, described, built, this park is about democracy. After all, only democracy is able to give the opportunity to let us think freely aboutdictatorship."

Memento Park is divided into two sections: Statue Park, officially named “A Sentence About Tyranny” Park after a poem of the same name by Gyula Ilyés, and laid out as 6 oval sections; and Witness Square (also called "Neverwas Square"), which lies east of the main park entrance and is visible without payment. Statue Park houses 42 of the statues/monuments that were removed from Budapest after the fall of communism. Witness Square holds a replica of Stalin's Boots which became a symbol of the Hungarian Revolution of 1956 after the statue of Stalin was pulled down from its pedestal in 1956, and is flanked by two single storey timber structures housing the internal exhibition space, their design being evocative of simple internment camp buildings.



Everyday of the year, in Tropicarium you can meet animals from all over the world. If you visit us you will see lazy aligators, exotic birds, interesting reptiles, and little monkeys, strange insects, hundreds of colourful fresh- and salt-water fishes within the reach of your hand, and our main spectacle,the scarysharks. At the rays touch tank you can not only stroke rays, but even feed them with the zookeepers.

The 12-meter-long observation tunnel and the huge, 4-meter-deep shark aquarium offer a breathtaking sight. Every Thursday at 3. p.m. the shark feeding show starts, when the divers hand feed the predators.

In the rainforest over the aligators’ head, every quarter hour the tropical rain starts to fall.

Join us in this unforgettable experience!